It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:54 am

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 8:26 pm 

:P hi all i am new to astronomy and i am trying to find, if it exsits, a book for the stars as seen from all over the uk. i have a visionary 114 reflector/newtonian 4.5", i have used it a couple of times but i am lost as i do not know how find the planets and stars. i would be greatfull for any help..

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 9:13 am 

Location: Portslade, Sussex Lat 50deg 51min Long 0deg 13mins West
tynesidelad wrote:
:P hi all i am new to astronomy and i am trying to find, if it exists, a book for the stars as seen from all over the uk. i have a visionary 114 reflector/newtonian 4.5", i have used it a couple of times but i am lost as i do not know how find the planets and stars. i would be greatfull for any help..

There is really little difference, as to what you can see where ever you live in the UK. In fact a simple star atlas will contain all the bright stars that you can see from anywhere in the world. Just buying a telescope is only the start of a long, steep learning curve but hopefully an interesting one! The number of books available is huge, many useful ones are listed in the SPA site to which this is attached. There are a number of magazines that can be bought at W.H.Smith plus if you joint the SPA you get a bi-monthly magazine too and this contain changeable information like where to find the planets, eclipses etc etc. ! As you and many others have discovered just buying a telescope does not immediately spread the universe before you, and, as one astronomer once wrote, buying a telescope is not like buying a television! You cannot just switch it on and use it! There is a multitude of routes that you can travel. Learning from scratch "with a telescope" with which you are unfamiliar can be a bit of a problem, especially as the amount of sky included is limited (although brighter and more magnified ) than in binoculars. regards maf